Dalek Redesign – alternatives…   2 comments

One of the things that irritates me about the “New Dalek” design is that almost anyone familiar with the Daleks could have done a better job… and I really do mean that…

It is a moot point as to whether a redesign was needed, but accepting that the production staff thought it was a good idea, is the design that we got really the best they could come up with?

Personally, I’m not a professional designer, just a Dalek fan with a PC, but I thought “I could do better than that” – so I tried it.

Here’s what I came up with. First I started by taking a drawing of a “traditional” Dalek….

….then I started playing around in an art package that’s now ten years out of date… This took me about an hour or so, in between emails.

Mr Pepperpot's Dalek Design
Mr Pepperpot’s Dalek Design

Now, I’m not saying that my design is any better than the original, I know it has a few flaws, and I won’t be offended if you don’t like it –  but all modesty aside I do think it is rather better than this…

It is perfectly possible to play around with the dimensions of a Dalek and still have it look like a Dalek. For example, here’s a variation on my design to make it wider; it still basically “works” because regardless of the precise dimension it retains an overall Dalek shape :

On the other hand, if you simply don’t give a hoot whether or not the overall shape resembles a Dalek you can forget about relative dimensions, deform the geometry and produce something like this :

Which is pretty close to what we’ve currently got…

By all reasonable criteria a totally untrained bloke sitting in front of a PC, drinking a cup of tea and doodling on screen shouldn’t be able to design a Dalek that looks even a tiny fraction as good as anything the BBC can come up with. So it is really rather sad that in my not-so-humble opinion it is quite so easy to produce something better than the “New Daleks”…

2 responses to “Dalek Redesign – alternatives…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think you are right almost everyone with an interest in Daleks could have made up a better design. God knows what possessed the production team. I think their design reminds me of the design for the Supreme Dalek in the DWM story ‘Fire and Brimestone’

  2. I don’t know if anyone else has seen this, but around the time the new series started I found some images online of an “updated” design for the Daleks.

    I can remember thinking the design was ridiculous and looked bulbous and hunch backed, so you can imagine my relief when the new series Dalek appeared looking fairly close to the originals. However those designs, which I can, oddly, not locate anywhere on the internet any more, were identical with the NEW Daleks.

    Does anyone else remember seeing them?

    If I manage to locate the images I’ll share them around.

Leave a Reply

